Book Excerpt: Give Me a Home Where the Dairy Cows Roam -- 5

May-Day!

The school bus had long since disappeared over the last hill toward the main road one afternoon when I set my books on the kitchen table and hurried into the living room to talk to my mother.

Mom was sitting in her favorite easy chair by the picture window, and her crutches were laid neatly on the floor next to the chair where she could reach them.

Outside the window, the air was so clear everything shimmered and sparkled. The fence posts. The plum trees. The lilacs. But even though the sun was shining and the grass was as green as the bottle of food coloring in the kitchen cupboard, a chilly wind blew out of the west. I would never tell her so, but I was glad my mother had insisted I put on my red button-down sweater before I left for school this morning.

"Mom?" I said. "Is it all right if I ride my bike?"

As I waited for her to answer my question, she looked up from the newspaper and peered at me through her black-rimmed reading glasses.

"You won't have much time before supper," she said. "Why don't you go out and find Dad instead?"

Since there were no other children in the family for me to play with, and no neighbor children close by, going outside to see Dad was even more fun than riding my bike.

There was only one problem.

"Isn't he in the field someplace?" I asked.

For the past month, Dad had been plowing, disking and planting. He often didn't arrive home until it was time to put the cows in the barn and feed them. If Dad was out in the field, then he would be too busy to talk to me.

My mother shook her head. "He's finished with the fieldwork. He came in for coffee this afternoon for the first time in I don't know how long."

"Yipee!" I said.

Mom smiled and went back to reading the newspaper.

A little while later after I had changed out of my school clothes and had put on my denim chore coat, I opened the porch door and saw our old, battered, green pickup truck backed up by the granary.

The driveway made a circle past the buildings, and in the middle sat the garage, a round, wooden grain bin, and the red gasoline barrel shaded by a large silver maple. Another silver maple grew in the front lawn, and a row of silver maples lined the lawn in back of the house. One time Mom had told me the silver maples were planted by my great-grandfather after he homesteaded the farm in the late 1800s.

The granary, which had little windows in the peak near the roof that looked like a square tipped on end, stood across the driveway from the gas barrel. The position of the pickup truck told me that Dad was inside the granary, loading oats into burlap bags, and that he planned to go into town tomorrow to grind feed. About once a week he loaded the truck and made a trip to the feed mill.

I stood on the porch and watched as Dad lifted a burlap bag of oats into the back of the truck. My father made it look as though the bag of oats weighed no more than a ten-pound bag of sugar, but I knew better. A bag of oats weighed about a hundred pounds. Dad had put one on a scale once so I could see how much it weighed.

As my father disappeared into the granary again, I smiled to myself, happy in the knowledge that I knew right where he was, so I wouldn't have to wander around the buildings, yelling for him.

I sat down on the porch steps. All afternoon, the concrete steps had been soaking up sunshine, and beneath the seat of my jeans, the top step felt almost hot. Dandelions filled the lawn, as if someone had scattered handfuls of gold coins, and big, white clouds that looked like giant cotton balls floated across the sky, pushed by the wind.

Only a few days of school remained, and I could hardly wait for summer vacation to begin. We usually got out of school the third week of May if we didn't have too many snow days to make up. And on the last day of school, we always had a picnic. Everybody took their plates outside, and we sat on the grass instead of eating in the cafeteria.

I wasn't looking forward to the picnic quite as much as I did other years, though. Last year on the last day of school, I had no more than settled down with my plate when a garter snake had slithered out between my feet. The mere thought that I had almost sat on a snake still made my stomach do flip-flops.

As I sat there thinking about the school picnic, one of the barn cats rose to her feet, arched her back and stretched, and then climbed the steps to sit beside me. She had been sprawled in the grass, sunning herself, and beneath my hand, her brown tabby fur felt warm and soft.

In a couple of minutes, the cat went back to sunning herself, and I headed for the rope-and-board swing hanging from the clothesline poles. While cloud shadows slipped across the fields, I swung higher and higher, my arms wrapped around the thick rope tied over the crosspiece. The rope had come from an extra coil stored in the haymow. Dad used the same kind of rope for letting the big door down so he could put hay into the barn during the summer.

When I had gone as high as I could go, I sat quietly while the swing moved slower and slower and slower. More puffy clouds drifted across the sun, and in the field behind the barn, clumps of alfalfa rippled in the cold breeze. The thought crossed my mind that maybe I should have put on a stocking cap. But then reason prevailed. It was May, after all.

I hopped out of the swing and strolled toward the granary just as Dad brought another bag of oats and heaved it into the truck.

The maple trees around the lawn were now covered with green leaves, and as I passed beneath the maple tree by the gas barrel, I was close enough to the truck to see the crack in the upholstery on top of the seat behind the steering wheel.

I had no more than lifted my foot to take another step toward the truck when I noticed something out of the corner of my eye.

I looked down.

And there, coiled in the grass by my feet, was the biggest snake I had ever seen.

I had come within inches of stepping on it.

The snake watched me with beady black eyes-and then its forked tongue flickered in my direction.

Before I had time to think, I drew a deep breath?turned?and took off for the house.

As I raced past the garage, I became aware of someone screaming. Blood curdling screams that were enough to make the hair stand up on the back of my neck.

Then I realized the screams were coming from me.

Seconds later, I cleared the porch steps in one leap and barged into the kitchen, startling my mother, who, by this time, had left the living room.

"What's wrong? Are you hurt?" Mom gasped, as she turned away from the sink.

"Snake!" was all I could say before collapsing against her.

Mom grabbed the cupboard to steady her balance and then put her arm around me. "Where was the snake, honey?" she asked, patting my back with one hand as she held onto the kitchen counter with the other. "Did you see a little grass snake?"

Before I could answer, I heard the porch door open and then the kitchen door.

It was Dad.

"What's wrong?" he asked, sounding slightly breathless. "What happened? Is she hurt?"

"She saw a snake, that's all," Mom replied.

I still had my face pressed tightly against her, but I thought she sounded exasperated.

"It was a BIG snake," I sniffled.

Hah! I wondered how calm Mom would be if she had almost stepped on a fifty-foot boa constrictor. We had learned about boa constrictors in science class, and even the smaller ones could eat rabbits in one swallow.

"Oh," Dad said. "I thought maybe she'd hurt herself." He quietly closed the kitchen door and went back outside to finish loading oats.

As I stood there leaning against my mother, I became aware that she was trembling.

I took a step back.

Mom wasn't trembling.

She was laughing-laughing so hard she had tears in her eyes.

I drew a shaky breath. "What's so funny?"

"Hee-hee," she spluttered. "Tee-hee."

"It is NOT," I said, drawing myself up to my full height, "funny."

Mom nodded her head. "Yes, it is."

She made her way over to the table and sat down.

Wouldn't you just know it. I was almost dragged away and killed by the biggest snake I had ever seen, and all my mother could do was laugh. Now that I'd had time to think about it, the snake by the granary was at least as long as the handle of the push broom we used to sweep the barn aisle.

I was beginning to wonder if my mother was ever going to stop laughing when she finally started to wipe her eyes.

"What," I asked once again, "is so funny?"

"Your poor father," she said, as fought back another snicker "There he was, out there in the granary, loading oats, minding his own business?and then?well?"

Dad? My mother was laughing because??

She was laughing because Dad must have run to the house as fast as I did. If not faster.

The thought of Dad running almost made me forget about the snake.

I had never seen Dad run anywhere. Sometimes he walked pretty fast. But I'd never seen him run.

"He probably wondered if you fell out of the tree and broke your arm, or something," Mom explained.

"Oh," I said.

In a little while after I calmed down, I ventured outside again.

The truck was still parked in the same place, but this time, I approached the granary with extreme caution.

I even squatted down to look under the pickup truck.

I didn't see the snake anywhere.

Not in the grass.

Not by the truck.

And not by the granary step.

Then, and only then, did I consider it safe to squeeze past the tailgate and climb into the granary.

"Hi, Daddy," I said, waiting for my eyes to adjust after the bright sunshine outside.

"That was a bull snake," Dad said while he continued bagging oats.

My father had a funny way, sometimes, of knowing what I was going to ask before I could say it-except that knowing what kind of snake it was didn't make me feel any better.

"He's a good snake," Dad added. "I've seen him around here a lot. He helps us. He hunts mice, like the kitties hunt mice. We want him to be around the granary."

"He's a good snake?"

As far as I was concerned, there was no such a thing as a 'good' snake.

"Will he bite?" I asked.

I had watched the cats hunt mice, and I understood why Dad didn't want mice in the granary. He said the cows wouldn't eat the feed if it had mouse droppings in it. I didn't blame them. Who would want to eat something that had mouse droppings in it?

"No," Dad said, dumping another shovel of oats in the bag, "the snake won't hurt you. I suppose he was taking a sunbath when you saw him. The sun is warm today, but that wind is awfully chilly."

By now, I was starting to feel a tiny bit guilty about my terrified, screaming reaction to the snake. If my father said he was a good snake-and that he was only taking a sunbath, just like the kitty by the porch had been taking a sunbath-then maybe it wasn't quite so bad.

"Tell you what," Dad continued, using a short section of string to tie the bag shut with a miller's knot, "whenever you're around the granary, keep an eye out for the bull snake. That way, the next time you see him, he won't be so scary."

"Are you sure he won't bite?" I asked.

Dad heaved the full bag of oats into the truck.

"No, kiddo," he said. "The snake won't bite. In fact, I'd even be willing to bet that you scared him more than he scared you."

I seriously doubted the snake had been more scared than me, but I kept it to myself.

For a long time after that, whenever I went near the granary, I looked for the bull snake.

But I never saw him again.

And neither did Dad.

"What do you suppose happened to that snake, Daddy?" I asked one day a few weeks later when he was loading oats again.

"I think you scared him away," Dad said, taking another burlap bag and hooking it over a nail to hold up one side while he shoveled oats into it. "He probably decided to go live someplace else where it was quieter."

"Do you really think he moved?" I asked. "Just because of that?"

My father nodded solemnly. "Snakes don't want to be where there's a lot of commotion. You wouldn't like it if someone screamed just because they saw you, would you?"

I thought about that for a few moments. "No, Daddy. I wouldn't like it."

I hoped, then, that the snake had found a nice place to live, a quiet place where his afternoon sunbath wouldn't be interrupted by blood-curdling screams of terror.

And with any luck at all, it would also be someplace where I wouldn't almost step on him again.

***************

About The Author

LeAnn R. Ralph is the author of the books "Give Me a Home Where the Dairy Cows Roam" and "Christmas in Dairyland." http://ruralroute2.com; bigpines@ruralroute2.com

More Resources

Book Reviews Articles from EzineArticles.com
12/14/2021 10:10 AM
Book Review: Ford Madox Ford's Novel' The Good Soldier'
Ford Madox Ford is one of those writers whose life spanned two centuries. He was born in 1873 and died in 1939. His novel 'A good Soldier: Tale of Passion' was written in 1915 and is rated as one of the great books of the twentieth century.
11/23/2021 11:44 AM
The Poetical Works of Tiruloka Sitaram With Translation and Notes
Tiruloka Sitaram was a great writer, poet and journalist. This book has 55 of his selected poems. Dr T.N.Ramachandran duly translated the Tamil poems. We find that the thoughts of Donne and Coleridge are less powerful than those of Shakespeare who however finds a match in Tiruloka Sitaram. Tiruloka Sitraram assumed himself as a spiritual son of the great Tamil poet Subramanya Bharathi even though he had never seen him.
11/22/2021 09:24 AM
Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of Memory: A Book Review
Have you heard of the author, Sidney Sheldon? Each of his highly renowned books has hit No. 1 on the New York Times bestseller list, and millions and millions of copies of his books have been sold all over the world. Needless to say, he is a master storyteller. Here I provide a book review of one of his awesome novels, "The Tides of Memory." Look inside.
11/16/2021 11:17 AM
Book Review of Mystery at the Blue Sea Cottage
The following article is a book review of Mystery at the Blue Sea Cottage. This is a debut true crime novel by author James Stewart.
10/19/2021 07:06 PM
Punjab Patwari Exam Preparation [2018-19]
Punjab Patwari Exam Preparation[2018-19]:- This Article will help you to be A Futuristic Patwari of Punjab Government. Early Strategy for Punjab Patwari will help you to crack this exam. In this article you will find many books which will helpful you to crack this exams.
10/19/2021 06:01 PM
Introduction to K-Means Clustering in Data Science
The K-K form is a type of unauthorized learning that is used to describe the data (i.e. lack of information about categories or groups).
06/29/2021 05:36 PM
Review of Janet Bloom's Book Co-Parenting Hell: Raising Healthy Kids With a Narcissistic Ex
The author describes the book a based on her experiences but refers to the American Psychiatric Association and professional writings she cites. The book presents as a combination of memoir and handbook for other parents in her situation.
06/07/2021 05:03 PM
Review of Saw the Forest by Patrick L. McConnell
The following article is a review of Saw the Forest by author Patrick L. McConnell. A well written work of fiction, the book leaves quite an impression.
03/08/2021 08:04 AM
The Miraculous Lives in Your Consciousness of Righteousness
In the breakthrough book, "The Consciousness of Righteousness: How to Release God's Power Within You!" readers come to understand that God's supernatural power is already within everyone who believes on the Lord Jesus Christ. Most of us live in the consciousness of sin; constantly thinking of and trying to avoid sin. However, Joseph explains that at salvation, Jesus exchanged our sinfulness with His righteousness and all we need to do is realize and actualize that state of consciousness: the consciousness of His righteousness. Once you come to live in a consciousness of righteousness, you become the likeness of Christ. The Consciousness of Righteousness---Just Live It!
01/08/2021 11:38 AM
Book Review of The Friends of Allan Renner
The following article is a review of the book The Friends of Allan Renner by author David J. Andrae. This work is his debut novel.
12/08/2020 01:55 PM
Review of The Gene Rasp by Patrick L. McConnell
The following article is a review of science fiction novel, The Gene Rasp by author Patrick L. McConnell. The book offers readers an intriguing look into a utopian future.
10/30/2020 09:11 AM
Breaking Generational Curses - Claiming Your Freedom (Book Review)
This book will open your eyes to the consequences of all our actions to our destiny and that of our children; even those yet unborn. The subject of curses has long been neglected, and we found it necessary to expose them. We begin by going into the scriptures to know exactly what God has to say about them, how they operate, and how we can be free from them completely. Generational curses are so important that God included them in the table of the Ten Commandments. It is a fact that many, including Christians today, are suffering under the consequences of disobeying Gods commandments and expectations. So many are bound by the enemy with unseen and unidentifiable instruments of bondage. In this study, we will be taught how to break these chains which originate from the enemy. We explore deeper into areas like idolatry, Halloween, immorality, treachery, stealing, murder, etc. I believe that as you read this book and explore its truths, there will be a stirring in you to examine your self and make deliberate efforts to live a holy life, if not for your self, at least for the sake of your children and the generations yet unborn
08/21/2020 12:26 PM
Book Review of Harbor's Edge by Sanne Rothman
The following article is a review of a new YA thriller, Harbor's Edge. Penned by author Sanne Rothman, this book does well to capture the attention of its readers.
06/11/2020 11:13 AM
The Japanese American Story As Told Through A Collection of Speeches and Articles, A Story of Hope
The Japanese American Story As Told Through A Collection of Speeches and Articles is a book which includes much of the history of Americans and immigrants of Japanese heritage. They were placed into American concentration camps during World War II because of racism, hatred, and discrimination. They had hope for the future and were able to find light through the darkness. Their subsequent success and acceptance came because they persevered and did not give up hope.
06/01/2020 09:04 AM
Review of The Offspring
The following article is a book review of The Offspring by author Bill Pinnell. This is a literary drama that gives food for thought when it comes to human nature.
04/01/2020 09:02 AM
Review of New Yorkers: A Feisty People Who Will Unsettle, Madden, Amuse and Astonish You
The following article is a book review of New Yorkers A Feisty People Who will Unsettle Madden Amuse and Astonish You. Written by well-received author and long time New York resident Clifford Browder.
03/06/2020 09:24 AM
Pacific Northwest Author Gregg Olsen
Author Gregg Olsen writes mystery novels with the American Pacific Northwest as his location backdrop. I was born and raised in the Pacific Northwest, therefore have knowledge of and an interest in the area. In Olsen's "Lying Next to Me the Last Thing She Ever Did" his setting is the Puget Sound region between Olympia and Seattle, Washington. In "The Last Thing She Ever Did," Olsen moves the novel's setting to Central Oregon. Bend is a town three hours from Portland with views of Mount Bachelor, the Three Sisters and Mount Hood.
02/14/2020 10:34 AM
Book Review of Who's There by Dimas Rio
The following article is a review of Who's There by author Dimas Rio. This book offers an intriguing collection of Indonesian based horror stories.
01/28/2020 02:57 PM
Book Review of Joe's Odyssey
The following article is a review of Joe's Odyssey by author Nick LaTorre. The book follows the antics of Joe and company as they embark on the college road trip of a lifetime.
01/06/2020 10:37 AM
Book Review of Learning to Quit by Co-Authors Suzanne Harris R.N., NCTTP and Paul Brunetta M.D
The following article is a review of a great smoking cessation guide, Learning to Quit. Written by two experienced and well informed medical professionals, Suzanne Harris R.N., NCTTP and Paul Brunetta M.D.
01/06/2020 10:32 AM
5 Reasons to Read Buying Guides
Some people don't take the time to read buying guides before purchasing a product or service. As a result, they find it really hard to purchase the right product. In fact, many of them end up with something that can't meet their needs.
11/15/2019 09:22 AM
Book Review of Choice Cut Book 3 of the Cut Series
The following article is a review of Choice Cut a great crime thriller novel by author Arnold Eslava-Grunwaldt. Part of a series, this book is the third installment in the series.
10/24/2019 07:21 PM
Review of Author Clifford Browder's The Eye That Never Sleeps
The following article is a review of The Eye That Never Sleeps By author Clifford Browder. It is the third in his Metropolis series, a mystery set in late nineteenth-century New York.
09/16/2019 09:25 AM
Book Review of Robin Lamont's The Experiment
The following is a review of an intriguing mystery concerning the subject of animal rights. Penned by author Robin Lamont this is the third installment of her well-done Kinship series.
09/03/2019 08:50 AM
A Valuable Review of "Alternative Investing: Making Money Outside the Stock Market"
During the economic recession in September and October 2008, most investors lost a lot of money due to a huge banking crisis which caused the stock market to crash. For those with most of their money in the stock market, the crash became a catastrophic nightmare. In many cases, people lost everything, not just in the stock market, but in most other investments as well.
05/09/2019 09:11 AM
Book Review of The Dumb Class by Mike Hatch
The following article is a review of a hilarious coming of age book. The Dumb Class: Boomer Junior High by author Mike Hatch takes readers on a wild unadulterated ride.
05/06/2019 02:53 PM
Shows How to Self-Publish Your Book for FREE on Amazon KDP
"How to Self-Publish a Book in 10 Easy Steps" offers the guidance and reasoning what to put in all those little boxes. This can be a viable and rewarding reference as Amazon sells 70% of all eBooks and 50% of print books plus the royalties are quite favorable to authors. Stating the hows and whys this book makes publishing your eBook and/or print on demand book not only easy but economical.
04/23/2019 01:49 PM
Dancing With Death Book Review
Based on the book, Dancing with Death The following article presents an in-depth review. Written by experts in the travel world, this was a great read.
04/23/2019 09:51 AM
Review of Blood Relations
The following is a review of a great legal thriller that I recently had the pleasure of reading. Blood Relations by Kathy Cohen and Edward Cohen, a story which will intrigue with both the setting and story.
04/08/2019 10:53 AM
1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die by Steven Jay Schneider
The book under review 1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die edited by Steven Jay Schneider gives you details of 1001 famous movies released between 1900 and 2016. The Genre index given at the end of the book covers 22 subjects namely Action, Adventure, Animation, Avant-Garde, Comedy, Crime, Docu-drama, Documentary, Drama, Experimental, Family, Fantasy, Horror, Musical, Mystery, Noir, Romance, Sci-fi, Short, Thriller, War and Western.
03/22/2019 01:26 PM
Sidney Sheldon's Chasing Tomorrow: A Book Review
I have changed homes. This home is bigger and more silent and sometimes it reaches to the point in the evening until night when it feels really spooky. I thought the best way to overcome that feeling was to immerse in a Sidney Sheldon's novel which I have read before and therefore, would now like to write a review. The article's title reveals the book title. So look inside and dive in.
03/13/2019 11:24 AM
BOO! By Simon Plaster Is a Horrifyingly Good Read
BOO! by Simon Plaster is an excellent satirical novel that pokes light-hearted fun at the Me Too Movement and many other topics. It's the latest LOL page-turning novel by the author in his series about Henrietta, a small-town reporter trying to hit the big time! Check it out today!
11/20/2018 11:22 AM
Book Review of Bollywood Invasion by Ricardo Alexanders
The following article is a book review of Bollywood Invasion a uniquely posed coming of age story. Written by Ricardo Alexanders, the book made for a great fantasy themed read.
07/26/2018 04:24 PM
Book Review of The Steel Queen
The following article is a review of a great fantasy book that I recently had the pleasure of reading. The book is The Steel Queen by Karen Azinger, it was a great fantasy genre read.
07/23/2018 12:59 PM
Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway - Book Review
Over the years I have read Susan Jeffers little book several times and recommended it to others. Recently I was working on a project and wanted to reference the book so my daughter sent me a "quick read" copy. I was surprised how good it was, all the essence of the book in a quick and easy to read format.
07/14/2018 11:24 AM
Book Review: 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership by John Maxwell
John Maxwell's 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership is one of my all-time favorites and considered one of the best leadership books ever written. This article discusses nine benefits for readers.
06/19/2018 10:41 AM
My Top 10 - The Best Books I've Ever Read
How I define my top 10 will definitely differ from others'. When I try to recollect the best books I've ever read, I have this criterion. How much did that book force me to finish in one go? Whether I was able to finish it in a single go or not due to other compelling reasons. Secondly, how much was I able to connect earlier chapters while reading later chapters. At times it happens you are at the end of the book but are not able to connect well with the story and flow.
05/31/2018 03:50 PM
Book Review - Psycho Cybernetics 2000
If you are feeling lost or that you are under achieving in your particular field,maybe lacking people skills or not happy with your life, Maxwell Maltz takes you by the hand on a journey to identify your problems making you feel that way and he shows you how to change your life. I have just re-read Psycho Cybernetics 2000 again, many years ago I read the e original, but this latest edition is easier to read. Bobbe Sommer a psychotherapist was asked by the Maltz foundation to update it and bring it into the 21st century...
05/08/2018 02:02 PM
Vehemence for Tales
In 2015, I decided I needed to pursue my passion amidst work. I decided I had to read. I took up the challenge of finishing to read one book every month. I did it because I had to nourish my soul and feed my dreams. I had to travel through text. So I took up the 12 months, 12 books challenge.
05/08/2018 02:00 PM
Top 12 Books I Read in 2017
Unlike last year, I was almost certain I would not be taking up any reading challenge this year. It's really something to wrap your head around so many characters and situations and not be affected.
04/06/2018 03:36 PM
Book Review of The Trinity Knot by Author DonnaLee Overly
The following article is a review of The Trinity Knot, an intriguingly dramatic work. Penned by author DonnaLee Overly this book does leave a lasting impression.
01/19/2018 09:49 AM
Book Review of Turtles All the Way Down
Turtles All the Way Down is a wonderfully woven young-adult tale penned down by John Green. The book portrays the true nature of mental sickness (OCD and Anxiety) from a 16-year-olds' point of view.
01/09/2018 03:54 PM
Book Review of The Perfect Match
The following is a review of the book The Perfect Match by author T Wayne Bloodworth. This turned out to be a worthy medical drama.
11/20/2017 09:30 PM
Book Review of Hidden Sea
I recently had the pleasure of reading and reviewing Miles Arceneaux's, Hidden Sea. The following article is a review of this thrilling narrative.
11/15/2017 04:20 PM
Interview With Kaylin McFarren, Author of Twisted Threads
Kaylin McFarren has received more than 40 national literary awards, in addition to a prestigious Golden Heart Award nomination for Flaherty's Crossing - a book she and her oldest daughter, Kristina McMorris, co-authored in 2008. Prior to embarking on her writing journey and developing the popular Threads action/adventure romance series, she poured her passion for creativity into her work as the director of a fine art gallery in the Pearl District in Portland, Oregon; she also served as a governor-appointed member of the Oregon Arts Commission. When she's not traveling or spoiling her pups and three grandsons, she enjoys giving back to her community through participation and support of various charitable and educational organizations in the Pacific Northwest, and is currently the president of the Soulful Giving Foundation - a non-profit focused on cancer research, care and treatment at hospitals throughout Oregon.
10/10/2017 08:04 AM
Review of The Way of The Dhin
The following is a book review of a wonderful science fiction book, The Way of The Dhin by author John L. Clemmer. This turned out to be a great read, that was both inventive and thought provoking.
10/09/2017 09:05 PM
Spots Is a LOL Satirical Novel About Commercial Spots
In his novel, Spots, featuring small-town reporter, Henrietta, from Henryetta, Oklahoma, Simon Plaster has written another satirical gem. This time around, Henrietta reports for the Tinseltown SCENE in Oklahoma City, where celebrities from TCs (television commercials) have gathered for a televised award ceremony. If you enjoy reading farcical humrous romps, this book's for you!
05/23/2017 12:19 PM
A Review of The Amarant by Author Tricia Barr
Tricia Barr's The Amarant, beckons readers into a fantastical vampire-filled world, where a young woman's crush on a fictional character leads her into an incredible reality where romance, the paranormal and an untapped legacy of fantastic supernatural power merge to change her world, forever.
04/20/2017 02:20 PM
Supernatural Brotherhood: Myths of the Mont Order
Is the Mont Order, a cult of manipulation dedicated to "equilibrium and order", real? Explore the strangest myths and rumors of supernatural power associated with the Mont Order group by reading what we know so far.
04/17/2017 03:32 PM
Ambitious Bestseller by Anthony Doerr
A reader never expects less than another brilliant story when choosing a work written by the Pulitzer Prize holder. Anthony Doerr is now known as a novelist with a rare talent of creating a World War II story that goes beyond killing, suffering, and Nazism.


More Book Reviews Information:

Related Articles

Selling Goodness-Introduction To The Book
Unfortunately, I have seen too many of even the most noble and vitally needed charitable nonprofits fade into obscurity, never having accomplished the laudable goals they set out to achieve. In most cases, the reason for their demise is that they did not promote themselves with vigor and assertiveness.
Until Youve Walked the Path!
From the depths of despair to the heights of hope. That is the inspiring journey traveled by author Paul Shearstone in his new book Until You've Walked The Path.
Book Review: Karmic Relationships
Karmic Relationships: Healing Invisible WoundsCharles Richards, Ph.D.
Twin Falls, Gooding, Jerome, ID, and Regional Economic Outlook for 2005
Twin Falls Economic Report done by me; Twin Falls, ID has potential for additional car washes, Detail Centers and mobile washing units. Twin Falls has enough water in their reservoirs to make it through the Summer for farmers and agriculture industries.
SitStayFetch - Dog Obedience Training Book Review
SitStayFetch is one of the most downloaded dog training resources on the net. Is it worth it?
Spiders Big Catch
When I was in college, Spider McGee, Charlie Fox, and I loved to fish off the log boom in the river near my house on summer afternoons. We'd sit and talk about life, drink hot chocolate, and occasionally catch a fish or two.
What $ells on EBay For What - Book Review
You look at the salesletter and the price tag ($8.95 USD) for the e-book What $ells on eBay For What, and they look pretty unpretentious.
What Color Is Your Parachute? - A Book Summary
The best-selling job-hunter's bible for decades, this indispensable resource is a complete handbook for peoplewho are on a quest to find their mission in life, or at the very least, the next good job that will put food on the table. Whether you are a fresh graduate, never finished a degree, or are searching for your deeper calling after many years of work, this is the book for you.
The Demon Plague - Book Review
"The Demon Plague by Joreid McFate is a fantastic paranormal suspense science-fiction novel, involving time-travel and mysticism. This 424 page book is also available in e-book format.
The Global Wolf Pack
Description:Intense action and gripping suspense characterize the seemingly real story about tax evation, money-laundering, intrigue and murder in corporate world.Book DescriptionThe fast-paced story about tax evasion, money-laundering, fraud, intrigue, and murder takes the reader from the outskirts of Munich to the vibrant vitality of Manhattan, from the South African wilderness to Tokyo's nightlife, from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong to the serenity of Alberobello in Italy.
Cut to the Chase
The Review Diaries"If It Doesn't Go Up, Don't Buy It!By Albert W. ThomasShe Unlimited MagazineReview byVeronica Marie Kettler"Cut to the Chase""Cut to the Chase" is exactly what Al Thomas sets forth to do is his book.
What is the Emperor Wearing - A Book Summary
What is the Emperor Wearing?Once upon a time, an emperor who loved clothes was approached by two con men who made him an offer he couldn't refuse. They promised to weave him a special cloth that would be invisible to anyone that is stupid or unworthy of their position.
Rat Race Blues E-book Review
RAT RACE BLUES: How To Break The StrangleholdDarlene ArechederraDAR N-Centives25 Della, Fenton, MO 63026, 636-343-5495October 2002, ISBN: None, Format: E-book92 pages, $16.95http://www.
The Red Hourglass: Lives of the Predators, by Gordon Grice
The black widow spider is notorious for eating her mate as they copulate, but how many of us know much more than that about this beautiful, mysterious, spider?Grice collects black widows and keeps them in jars and studies them, and he tells us more than we care to know at times. But it is not just black widows that interest Grice, it is rattlesnakes, praying mantis, tarantula, pigs, dogs, and the recluse spider.
Create Your Own Future - AchieveMax® Top Ten Book Review
Create Your Own Future: How to Master 12 Critical Factors of Unlimited Success by Brian TracyCreate Your Own Future is another example of what Brian Tracy does best. Over the years he has studied success techniques, theories, and processes and then re-framed them with personal insights to pass on to more than 500 corporations and more than two million people in 23 countries via his books, audio tapes, seminars and keynotes.
Kmarts Ten Deadly Sins - AchieveMax® Top Ten Book Review
Kmart's Ten Deadly Sins: How Incompetence Tainted an American Icon was begging to be written. It probably would have surfaced much earlier if not for the fear of many authors that publishing too soon would result in the omission of who knows how many future bewildering tactics by the forever transforming retail giant, K-mart.
Shattered Memories, Scattered Emotion - Review
Betty Woodrum released her first book of poetry entitled Shattered Memories, Scattered Emotions in on July 16, 2005. Her poetry is clean and simple and extremely honest.
Primal Leadership - A Book Summary
Primal leadership takes center stage in this book. This concept goes beyond the set of conventional competencies on the making of a leader.
Profitable Growth Is Everyones Business - A Book Summary
The days of ruthless downsizing and drastic cost cutting are long gone. Nowadays, companies have realized that the best way to earn profit is only through growth - profitable growth.
Book Summary: First, Break All The Rules
Based on a mammoth research study conducted by the Gallup Organization involving 80,000 managers across different industries, this book explores the challenge of many companies - attaining, keeping and measuring employee satisfaction. Discover how great managers attract, hire, focus, and keep their most talented employees!Key Ideas:1.