Be the Captain of Your Lifes Ship

In his book, "Crossing the Unknown Sea: Work as a Pilgrimage of Identity," author David Whyte explores the concept of work from an internal perspective and how work allows us to become the individuals that we are. He refers to the works of the well-known poet and engraver, William Blake. Whyte uses the analogy of a ship crossing unknown seas to illustrate how we need to be the captains of our vessels. Through a variety of analogies, Wyte has presented work from a different perspective and one that allows us to explore our own potential and how we can better leverage that potential within that area of our life we call work.

Work is viewed not just as a journey through the world, but through the various stages of understanding. Work allows us to give the gifts that we possess and shows us the gifts that we are afraid of receiving.

The voyage that we take in our "ships" also involves change. Change is a necessary component to meaningful and creative work.

Whyte also shares how he believes that the successes we have in middle life can also imprison us as much as our failures. Some of the other interesting concepts he discusses includes: courage, expressive imagination, family ancestry of work and the "edge of necessity."

Leanne Hoagland-Smith, M.S. President of ADVANCED SYSTEMS, is the Process Specialist. With over 25 years of business and education experience, she builds peace and abundance by connecting the 3P's of Passion, Purpose and Performance through process improvement. Her ROI driven process solutions affect sustainable change in 4 key areas: financials, leadership, relationships and growth & innovation with a variety of industries. She aligns the strategies, systems and people to develop loyal internal customers that lead to external customers. As co-author of M.A.G.I.C.A.L. Potential:Living an Amazing Life Beyond Purpose to Achievement due for June 2005 release, Leanne speaks nationally to a variety of audiences. Please call Leanne a call at 219.759.5601 or leanne@processspecialist.com if you are seeking amazing results.

Copyright 2005(c) Leanne Hoagland-Smith, http://www.processspecialist.com

Permission to publish this article, electronically or in print, as long as the bylines are included, with a live link, and the article is not changed in any way (grammatical corrections accepted).

More Resources

Book Reviews Articles from EzineArticles.com
12/14/2021 10:10 AM
Book Review: Ford Madox Ford's Novel' The Good Soldier'
Ford Madox Ford is one of those writers whose life spanned two centuries. He was born in 1873 and died in 1939. His novel 'A good Soldier: Tale of Passion' was written in 1915 and is rated as one of the great books of the twentieth century.
11/23/2021 11:44 AM
The Poetical Works of Tiruloka Sitaram With Translation and Notes
Tiruloka Sitaram was a great writer, poet and journalist. This book has 55 of his selected poems. Dr T.N.Ramachandran duly translated the Tamil poems. We find that the thoughts of Donne and Coleridge are less powerful than those of Shakespeare who however finds a match in Tiruloka Sitaram. Tiruloka Sitraram assumed himself as a spiritual son of the great Tamil poet Subramanya Bharathi even though he had never seen him.
11/22/2021 09:24 AM
Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of Memory: A Book Review
Have you heard of the author, Sidney Sheldon? Each of his highly renowned books has hit No. 1 on the New York Times bestseller list, and millions and millions of copies of his books have been sold all over the world. Needless to say, he is a master storyteller. Here I provide a book review of one of his awesome novels, "The Tides of Memory." Look inside.
11/16/2021 11:17 AM
Book Review of Mystery at the Blue Sea Cottage
The following article is a book review of Mystery at the Blue Sea Cottage. This is a debut true crime novel by author James Stewart.
10/19/2021 07:06 PM
Punjab Patwari Exam Preparation [2018-19]
Punjab Patwari Exam Preparation[2018-19]:- This Article will help you to be A Futuristic Patwari of Punjab Government. Early Strategy for Punjab Patwari will help you to crack this exam. In this article you will find many books which will helpful you to crack this exams.
10/19/2021 06:01 PM
Introduction to K-Means Clustering in Data Science
The K-K form is a type of unauthorized learning that is used to describe the data (i.e. lack of information about categories or groups).
06/29/2021 05:36 PM
Review of Janet Bloom's Book Co-Parenting Hell: Raising Healthy Kids With a Narcissistic Ex
The author describes the book a based on her experiences but refers to the American Psychiatric Association and professional writings she cites. The book presents as a combination of memoir and handbook for other parents in her situation.
06/07/2021 05:03 PM
Review of Saw the Forest by Patrick L. McConnell
The following article is a review of Saw the Forest by author Patrick L. McConnell. A well written work of fiction, the book leaves quite an impression.
03/08/2021 08:04 AM
The Miraculous Lives in Your Consciousness of Righteousness
In the breakthrough book, "The Consciousness of Righteousness: How to Release God's Power Within You!" readers come to understand that God's supernatural power is already within everyone who believes on the Lord Jesus Christ. Most of us live in the consciousness of sin; constantly thinking of and trying to avoid sin. However, Joseph explains that at salvation, Jesus exchanged our sinfulness with His righteousness and all we need to do is realize and actualize that state of consciousness: the consciousness of His righteousness. Once you come to live in a consciousness of righteousness, you become the likeness of Christ. The Consciousness of Righteousness---Just Live It!
01/08/2021 11:38 AM
Book Review of The Friends of Allan Renner
The following article is a review of the book The Friends of Allan Renner by author David J. Andrae. This work is his debut novel.
12/08/2020 01:55 PM
Review of The Gene Rasp by Patrick L. McConnell
The following article is a review of science fiction novel, The Gene Rasp by author Patrick L. McConnell. The book offers readers an intriguing look into a utopian future.
10/30/2020 09:11 AM
Breaking Generational Curses - Claiming Your Freedom (Book Review)
This book will open your eyes to the consequences of all our actions to our destiny and that of our children; even those yet unborn. The subject of curses has long been neglected, and we found it necessary to expose them. We begin by going into the scriptures to know exactly what God has to say about them, how they operate, and how we can be free from them completely. Generational curses are so important that God included them in the table of the Ten Commandments. It is a fact that many, including Christians today, are suffering under the consequences of disobeying Gods commandments and expectations. So many are bound by the enemy with unseen and unidentifiable instruments of bondage. In this study, we will be taught how to break these chains which originate from the enemy. We explore deeper into areas like idolatry, Halloween, immorality, treachery, stealing, murder, etc. I believe that as you read this book and explore its truths, there will be a stirring in you to examine your self and make deliberate efforts to live a holy life, if not for your self, at least for the sake of your children and the generations yet unborn
08/21/2020 12:26 PM
Book Review of Harbor's Edge by Sanne Rothman
The following article is a review of a new YA thriller, Harbor's Edge. Penned by author Sanne Rothman, this book does well to capture the attention of its readers.
06/11/2020 11:13 AM
The Japanese American Story As Told Through A Collection of Speeches and Articles, A Story of Hope
The Japanese American Story As Told Through A Collection of Speeches and Articles is a book which includes much of the history of Americans and immigrants of Japanese heritage. They were placed into American concentration camps during World War II because of racism, hatred, and discrimination. They had hope for the future and were able to find light through the darkness. Their subsequent success and acceptance came because they persevered and did not give up hope.
06/01/2020 09:04 AM
Review of The Offspring
The following article is a book review of The Offspring by author Bill Pinnell. This is a literary drama that gives food for thought when it comes to human nature.
04/01/2020 09:02 AM
Review of New Yorkers: A Feisty People Who Will Unsettle, Madden, Amuse and Astonish You
The following article is a book review of New Yorkers A Feisty People Who will Unsettle Madden Amuse and Astonish You. Written by well-received author and long time New York resident Clifford Browder.
03/06/2020 09:24 AM
Pacific Northwest Author Gregg Olsen
Author Gregg Olsen writes mystery novels with the American Pacific Northwest as his location backdrop. I was born and raised in the Pacific Northwest, therefore have knowledge of and an interest in the area. In Olsen's "Lying Next to Me the Last Thing She Ever Did" his setting is the Puget Sound region between Olympia and Seattle, Washington. In "The Last Thing She Ever Did," Olsen moves the novel's setting to Central Oregon. Bend is a town three hours from Portland with views of Mount Bachelor, the Three Sisters and Mount Hood.
02/14/2020 10:34 AM
Book Review of Who's There by Dimas Rio
The following article is a review of Who's There by author Dimas Rio. This book offers an intriguing collection of Indonesian based horror stories.
01/28/2020 02:57 PM
Book Review of Joe's Odyssey
The following article is a review of Joe's Odyssey by author Nick LaTorre. The book follows the antics of Joe and company as they embark on the college road trip of a lifetime.
01/06/2020 10:37 AM
Book Review of Learning to Quit by Co-Authors Suzanne Harris R.N., NCTTP and Paul Brunetta M.D
The following article is a review of a great smoking cessation guide, Learning to Quit. Written by two experienced and well informed medical professionals, Suzanne Harris R.N., NCTTP and Paul Brunetta M.D.
01/06/2020 10:32 AM
5 Reasons to Read Buying Guides
Some people don't take the time to read buying guides before purchasing a product or service. As a result, they find it really hard to purchase the right product. In fact, many of them end up with something that can't meet their needs.
11/15/2019 09:22 AM
Book Review of Choice Cut Book 3 of the Cut Series
The following article is a review of Choice Cut a great crime thriller novel by author Arnold Eslava-Grunwaldt. Part of a series, this book is the third installment in the series.
10/24/2019 07:21 PM
Review of Author Clifford Browder's The Eye That Never Sleeps
The following article is a review of The Eye That Never Sleeps By author Clifford Browder. It is the third in his Metropolis series, a mystery set in late nineteenth-century New York.
09/16/2019 09:25 AM
Book Review of Robin Lamont's The Experiment
The following is a review of an intriguing mystery concerning the subject of animal rights. Penned by author Robin Lamont this is the third installment of her well-done Kinship series.
09/03/2019 08:50 AM
A Valuable Review of "Alternative Investing: Making Money Outside the Stock Market"
During the economic recession in September and October 2008, most investors lost a lot of money due to a huge banking crisis which caused the stock market to crash. For those with most of their money in the stock market, the crash became a catastrophic nightmare. In many cases, people lost everything, not just in the stock market, but in most other investments as well.
05/09/2019 09:11 AM
Book Review of The Dumb Class by Mike Hatch
The following article is a review of a hilarious coming of age book. The Dumb Class: Boomer Junior High by author Mike Hatch takes readers on a wild unadulterated ride.
05/06/2019 02:53 PM
Shows How to Self-Publish Your Book for FREE on Amazon KDP
"How to Self-Publish a Book in 10 Easy Steps" offers the guidance and reasoning what to put in all those little boxes. This can be a viable and rewarding reference as Amazon sells 70% of all eBooks and 50% of print books plus the royalties are quite favorable to authors. Stating the hows and whys this book makes publishing your eBook and/or print on demand book not only easy but economical.
04/23/2019 01:49 PM
Dancing With Death Book Review
Based on the book, Dancing with Death The following article presents an in-depth review. Written by experts in the travel world, this was a great read.
04/23/2019 09:51 AM
Review of Blood Relations
The following is a review of a great legal thriller that I recently had the pleasure of reading. Blood Relations by Kathy Cohen and Edward Cohen, a story which will intrigue with both the setting and story.
04/08/2019 10:53 AM
1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die by Steven Jay Schneider
The book under review 1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die edited by Steven Jay Schneider gives you details of 1001 famous movies released between 1900 and 2016. The Genre index given at the end of the book covers 22 subjects namely Action, Adventure, Animation, Avant-Garde, Comedy, Crime, Docu-drama, Documentary, Drama, Experimental, Family, Fantasy, Horror, Musical, Mystery, Noir, Romance, Sci-fi, Short, Thriller, War and Western.
03/22/2019 01:26 PM
Sidney Sheldon's Chasing Tomorrow: A Book Review
I have changed homes. This home is bigger and more silent and sometimes it reaches to the point in the evening until night when it feels really spooky. I thought the best way to overcome that feeling was to immerse in a Sidney Sheldon's novel which I have read before and therefore, would now like to write a review. The article's title reveals the book title. So look inside and dive in.
03/13/2019 11:24 AM
BOO! By Simon Plaster Is a Horrifyingly Good Read
BOO! by Simon Plaster is an excellent satirical novel that pokes light-hearted fun at the Me Too Movement and many other topics. It's the latest LOL page-turning novel by the author in his series about Henrietta, a small-town reporter trying to hit the big time! Check it out today!
11/20/2018 11:22 AM
Book Review of Bollywood Invasion by Ricardo Alexanders
The following article is a book review of Bollywood Invasion a uniquely posed coming of age story. Written by Ricardo Alexanders, the book made for a great fantasy themed read.
07/26/2018 04:24 PM
Book Review of The Steel Queen
The following article is a review of a great fantasy book that I recently had the pleasure of reading. The book is The Steel Queen by Karen Azinger, it was a great fantasy genre read.
07/23/2018 12:59 PM
Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway - Book Review
Over the years I have read Susan Jeffers little book several times and recommended it to others. Recently I was working on a project and wanted to reference the book so my daughter sent me a "quick read" copy. I was surprised how good it was, all the essence of the book in a quick and easy to read format.
07/14/2018 11:24 AM
Book Review: 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership by John Maxwell
John Maxwell's 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership is one of my all-time favorites and considered one of the best leadership books ever written. This article discusses nine benefits for readers.
06/19/2018 10:41 AM
My Top 10 - The Best Books I've Ever Read
How I define my top 10 will definitely differ from others'. When I try to recollect the best books I've ever read, I have this criterion. How much did that book force me to finish in one go? Whether I was able to finish it in a single go or not due to other compelling reasons. Secondly, how much was I able to connect earlier chapters while reading later chapters. At times it happens you are at the end of the book but are not able to connect well with the story and flow.
05/31/2018 03:50 PM
Book Review - Psycho Cybernetics 2000
If you are feeling lost or that you are under achieving in your particular field,maybe lacking people skills or not happy with your life, Maxwell Maltz takes you by the hand on a journey to identify your problems making you feel that way and he shows you how to change your life. I have just re-read Psycho Cybernetics 2000 again, many years ago I read the e original, but this latest edition is easier to read. Bobbe Sommer a psychotherapist was asked by the Maltz foundation to update it and bring it into the 21st century...
05/08/2018 02:02 PM
Vehemence for Tales
In 2015, I decided I needed to pursue my passion amidst work. I decided I had to read. I took up the challenge of finishing to read one book every month. I did it because I had to nourish my soul and feed my dreams. I had to travel through text. So I took up the 12 months, 12 books challenge.
05/08/2018 02:00 PM
Top 12 Books I Read in 2017
Unlike last year, I was almost certain I would not be taking up any reading challenge this year. It's really something to wrap your head around so many characters and situations and not be affected.
04/06/2018 03:36 PM
Book Review of The Trinity Knot by Author DonnaLee Overly
The following article is a review of The Trinity Knot, an intriguingly dramatic work. Penned by author DonnaLee Overly this book does leave a lasting impression.
01/19/2018 09:49 AM
Book Review of Turtles All the Way Down
Turtles All the Way Down is a wonderfully woven young-adult tale penned down by John Green. The book portrays the true nature of mental sickness (OCD and Anxiety) from a 16-year-olds' point of view.
01/09/2018 03:54 PM
Book Review of The Perfect Match
The following is a review of the book The Perfect Match by author T Wayne Bloodworth. This turned out to be a worthy medical drama.
11/20/2017 09:30 PM
Book Review of Hidden Sea
I recently had the pleasure of reading and reviewing Miles Arceneaux's, Hidden Sea. The following article is a review of this thrilling narrative.
11/15/2017 04:20 PM
Interview With Kaylin McFarren, Author of Twisted Threads
Kaylin McFarren has received more than 40 national literary awards, in addition to a prestigious Golden Heart Award nomination for Flaherty's Crossing - a book she and her oldest daughter, Kristina McMorris, co-authored in 2008. Prior to embarking on her writing journey and developing the popular Threads action/adventure romance series, she poured her passion for creativity into her work as the director of a fine art gallery in the Pearl District in Portland, Oregon; she also served as a governor-appointed member of the Oregon Arts Commission. When she's not traveling or spoiling her pups and three grandsons, she enjoys giving back to her community through participation and support of various charitable and educational organizations in the Pacific Northwest, and is currently the president of the Soulful Giving Foundation - a non-profit focused on cancer research, care and treatment at hospitals throughout Oregon.
10/10/2017 08:04 AM
Review of The Way of The Dhin
The following is a book review of a wonderful science fiction book, The Way of The Dhin by author John L. Clemmer. This turned out to be a great read, that was both inventive and thought provoking.
10/09/2017 09:05 PM
Spots Is a LOL Satirical Novel About Commercial Spots
In his novel, Spots, featuring small-town reporter, Henrietta, from Henryetta, Oklahoma, Simon Plaster has written another satirical gem. This time around, Henrietta reports for the Tinseltown SCENE in Oklahoma City, where celebrities from TCs (television commercials) have gathered for a televised award ceremony. If you enjoy reading farcical humrous romps, this book's for you!
05/23/2017 12:19 PM
A Review of The Amarant by Author Tricia Barr
Tricia Barr's The Amarant, beckons readers into a fantastical vampire-filled world, where a young woman's crush on a fictional character leads her into an incredible reality where romance, the paranormal and an untapped legacy of fantastic supernatural power merge to change her world, forever.
04/20/2017 02:20 PM
Supernatural Brotherhood: Myths of the Mont Order
Is the Mont Order, a cult of manipulation dedicated to "equilibrium and order", real? Explore the strangest myths and rumors of supernatural power associated with the Mont Order group by reading what we know so far.
04/17/2017 03:32 PM
Ambitious Bestseller by Anthony Doerr
A reader never expects less than another brilliant story when choosing a work written by the Pulitzer Prize holder. Anthony Doerr is now known as a novelist with a rare talent of creating a World War II story that goes beyond killing, suffering, and Nazism.


More Book Reviews Information:

Related Articles

Book Review: Karmic Relationships
Karmic Relationships: Healing Invisible WoundsCharles Richards, Ph.D.
The Oz Principle - A Book Summary
In The Oz Principle, Connors, Smith, and Hickman brilliantly use the analogy of "The Wizard of Oz" to discuss a business philosophy aimed in propelling individuals and organizations to overcome unfavorable circumstances and achieve desired results. This philosophy can be encompassed in one word: ACCOUNTABILITY.
What $ells on EBay For What - Book Review
You look at the salesletter and the price tag ($8.95 USD) for the e-book What $ells on eBay For What, and they look pretty unpretentious.
What Really Works - AchieveMax® Top Ten Book Review
If you watch television, read the newspaper and/or magazines, frequent the Internet, or simply move in any kind of a business circle, you must have, at one time or another, pondered the following:Why do some organizations consistently outperform their competitors?What do managers at the best companies know-and do-to keep their organizations on top?When it comes to implementing management practices that can propel a company to lasting success ..
Book Summary: EVEolution
For any business to survive today, it needs to understand how to market to women. The fact is women make 80% of all purchasing decisions.
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince - A Review
If writing was a religion, it shall be easy to deem 'Harry Potter and the half-blood prince' as the penultimate blasphemy, an utmost sacrilege. A book that discredits its own magnitude, it is a joke in the Queens' English that bravely illustrates the argument for its painful ineptitude.
FISH! Tales - AchieveMax® Top Ten Book Review
FISH! Tales: Real-Life Stories to Help You Transform Your Workplace and Your Life by Stephen C. Lundin, Harry Paul, John Christensen, Philip StrandIf you're reading this book review, you have at least heard about the book from which FISH! Tales evolved.
Create Your Own Future - AchieveMax® Top Ten Book Review
Create Your Own Future: How to Master 12 Critical Factors of Unlimited Success by Brian TracyCreate Your Own Future is another example of what Brian Tracy does best. Over the years he has studied success techniques, theories, and processes and then re-framed them with personal insights to pass on to more than 500 corporations and more than two million people in 23 countries via his books, audio tapes, seminars and keynotes.
Pariah - Book Review
"Pariah, written by multi-talented artist and author Timothy Goodwin, is a science fiction, fantasy novel that incorporates some very clear ideas to what is wrong with today's world. The characters are colorfully portrayed and the battles were very well written.
Book review on Finite Capacity Scheduling, Part II
Now add ten more car wash trucks, with the corresponding work to be done and add two more shifts to each truck to achieve maximum capacity and what do you have? 12 hours worth of scenario scheduling and moving around resources to see what fits best. What if a computer did it in 20 minutes? It can you know.
Book Summary: Networking For Professional Success
Book Summary:This article is based on the following book:Effective Networking for Professional Success: "How to Make the Most of Your Personal Contacts"by Rupert Hart, Stirling Books, 1997ISBN 0 949 142 09 3125 pagesWe are all "self-employed" now.Today there is absolutely no job security.
Pandemonium - Book Review
"Within the first few pages, I was engrossed and deeply moved by Apina Hrbek's eloquent writing skills. Tears of compassion were in my eyes at several points in this moving story of survival.
HIV-Muscles: This is the Title of a New Book about One Mans Battle with HIV
Today Lavaine is doing well and able to go about life in a manner which would never have been thought possible in 1986. This was the year which he was diagnosed as HIV+.
The New Art of War, Tactics, and Power
To rise and flourish in the world, you need to act according to how things really are, and you need to be a good strategist and manager. Most of the tactical information in the world lacks much practical value.
Book Review: If You Are Over Fifty, You Are Entitled To Some Very Interesting Discounts On Travel:
Title: Unbelievably Good Deals and Great Adventures That You Absolutely Can't Get Unless You're Over 50 (2005-2006Author: Joan Rattner HeilmanISBN: 0071438297Publishers: McGraw-Hill:The following review was contributed by: NORM GOLDMAN: Editor of Bookpleasures.REVIEWNo age group represents such an enormous market of potential consumers than those over the age of fifty.
The Letter Writer: Book Review
"I enjoyed reading this book. The characters were portrayed very well.
Living in Darkness - Book Review
Award winning author John Roynesdal, is a retired English teacher who has written for more than 15 years and produced 3 books for his Phillip Michael Carnegie Mystery series. Throughout the series, John focuses on issues that prevail on mankind: greed, prejudice, poverty, dysfunctional families and the conflict between traditional and modern societies.
Product Review: Affiliate Mistakes Special Report
In his ebook "Affiliate Mistakes Special Report," Chuck McCullough teaches you how to spot and avoid or correct ten simple, yet costly errors that can seriously damage your efforts to promote affiliate programs successfully. Instead of writing about the broad based generalities of affiliate marketing, Chuck takes you by the hand and teaches you why most affiliates never make a dime in commission.
Media Star Power Book Review
Media Star Power: ABCs to Successful TV, Radio, Print & Net InterviewsJudy JernuddMindShelf Publishing270 North Canon Drive, #1175, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 310-306-6999June 2003, ISBN: 0-9722398-3-9194 pages, $14.95http://www.
The Global Wolf Pack
Description:Intense action and gripping suspense characterize the seemingly real story about tax evation, money-laundering, intrigue and murder in corporate world.Book DescriptionThe fast-paced story about tax evasion, money-laundering, fraud, intrigue, and murder takes the reader from the outskirts of Munich to the vibrant vitality of Manhattan, from the South African wilderness to Tokyo's nightlife, from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong to the serenity of Alberobello in Italy.